Week 2 | Art Experience: Landscapes with a Corpse

This week’s art activity was called Landscapes with a Corpse inspired by Izima Kaoru. At first, I had no idea of how I was going to “die,” but I knew I wanted it to look bloody and gory so I could have some fun with fake theatre blood. I am also a very clumsy person so I incorporated that fact into my “death.”

The timeline of my “death” begins when I wake up in the middle of the night to get a glass of water downstairs. I walk down the stairs and I almost reach the last steps when my foot slides on my little nephew’s scooter toy. As I slide off the scooter, I lose my balance and fall backwards. I end up hitting the back of my head on the stair steps and cracking my skull open. My little nephew wakes up after hearing me scream and goes to investigate. He sees me from the top of the stairs and feels guilty that I died by slipping on one of his toys.

The setup for my “death” was pretty simple. All I did was pour fake theatre blood next to the stairs and had my younger brother take some photos. Izima Kaoru’s subjects are usually dressed in beautiful clothing so I thought I would dress in a light, pretty pink color. My brother shot me from different angles–some up-close shots, and some from the top of the stairs.

In one of my photos, my nephew is watching me from the staircase. My nephew being incorporated in my photo was actually unplanned! We tried to keep him in his room because we didn’t want him to get scared, but he was being a stubborn little kid and escaped from his room anyways. As we were shooting my “death,” he was actually curious and not at all scared! He watched me from the top of the stairs and that’s when I got the idea that it would look interesting if we got a photo from his perspective too.

The main idea of this story is that my little nephew should put his toys away because someone could seriously get hurt! He always leaves his toys scattered all around the house and everyone is constantly tripping over them and hurting themselves. My “death” is an exaggeration of that, but it is still somewhat realistic. I am also the clumsiest person to exist and I feel like I would die in some kind of freak accident like this (haha).

Processed with VSCO with q3 preset
Up-close shot of me with my skull cracked open.
Processed with VSCO with q3 preset
My corpse laying next to the scooter that killed me. Shot from the 2nd story.
Processed with VSCO with q3 preset
My nephew’s perspective when he sees me dead after slipping on his scooter.

 

2 thoughts on “Week 2 | Art Experience: Landscapes with a Corpse”

Leave a Reply

